Friday, January 15, 2010

The waiting game...

No post yesterday. I didn't remember that I hadn't done one until last night after I had turned Kait's computer off so I didn't do one.

I'm looking forward to the weekend due to David and Julian arriving anytime now. It should be a good weekend I would imagine. From what I know, we will be going to DC tomorrow and hopefully Baltimore on Sunday depending on how the weather holds up. Also as of right now, I don't know what we will be doing in either place so that will be decided later I suppose. I know David and he'll want to do it all, ha ha, which isn't a bad thing. It does suck that Kait has to work on Saturday but I guess that's how it works some times. She'll join us on Sunday and that'll work.

Tennessee hired a new football coach today. His name is Derek Dooley and from his press conference he seems to be a good guy with good morals and should run a clean program. That couldn't be said about Kiffin when he came in but we're passed that. Dooley is the son of Vince Dooley, a long time Georgia Head Coach, and seems to have a good grasp of what Tennessee is about and knows that he isn't bigger than Tennessee. In the long run I hope that Tennessee can move on from their crazy last year and a half and come out better for it.

Well, I'm off to wait for David and Julian.

Until tomorrow!

Wednesday, January 13, 2010

It's official, I'm ready for classes to start...

I'm so bored at home with nothing to do. When I get this bored, it makes me sleep way later than I should. Not that I have anything to be up for but I shouldn't be sleeping as late as I am. All I've done today is sit on the computer and watch updates regarding the Tennessee football team on TV. I know, it's pathetic. I enjoy keeping up with my team but after all the crap they have been through in the last 24 hours, it's just depressing.

As I stated yesterday, our douche bag of a former coach, Lane Kiffin, bolted for his "dream job" at USC. What pisses me off more than anything else is not the fact that he left, but HOW he left. I get that he wants to go "home" seeing as he is originally from California but the way he left Tennessee after one season is just despicable. He came to Tennessee saying all the right things; how he was going to re-energize the UT Football program, embrace our traditions, and "sing Rocky Top all night long after we beat Florida next year". Most of the Tennessee fan base as well as the players and coaches bought into his talk and even fought for him when he would do or say something that wasn't always the best. We stood up for him hoping that he would return the favor and bring us back to football prominence. Then this happens. After we all got our hopes up and thought we were on the up and up he just up and leaves.

I understand that's life and football isn't everything but it's so disheartening to think the loyalty is pretty much gone in this day and age. I guess contracts mean nothing when you can just up and leave whenever you please. I really thought he was going to do great things at Tennessee and I still feel that had he stayed he probably would have. Despite most of the feelings I'm having right now, I still wish Kiffin good luck in his new job and hope that Tennessee can once again be a college football powerhouse. We are Tennessee and that won't ever change.

Now that I have that off my chest, I guess I can move on with my life. I was supposed to go to GMU tonight to give Ashley a tour since she just got accepted and didn't knowher way around. She texted me though and said that she had to go home and that they had given a tour during orientation. Kaitlyn was going to come by, but that didn't work out so here I am being bored, ha ha.

So I'm ending this blog post the same way I started it. I'm officially ready for classes to start...

Until tomorrow.

Tuesday, January 12, 2010

So much for the Vol spirit...

After all the positive momentum Vol Nation received from the awesome basketball game Sunday, Kiffin just let ever bit of it out when he left tonight to go to USC. I'm really disappointed because I felt he came to Tennessee to prove all his doubters wrong, but it seems like he just did the opposite.

I'm pretty tired and my computer is screwy tonight, so more on this topic tomorrow. Goodnight.

Until tomorrow...

Final week until classes start...

So I have a week left until classes start and I'm looking forward to it. I didn't do much today and it's starting to finally wear on me. I need things to do.

Kaitlyn came over after she got bored enough at her practicum and we went out to run some errands. I had to go deposit some money into my sister's bank account, get gas in my car, and pick up some more biscuts for dinner. We had breakfast for dinner which is always one of my favorites. Scrambled eggs, bacon and biscuts...what's not to love? After that, Kaitlyn and I just hung out with each other and enjoying eachother's company while watching some TV. She then went home and I went back to being bored ha ha. I know, I know, I lead a very exciting life. Hell, I don't care, it is what it is and I'm happy with things right now. Sure things could be different for me, but that doesn't necessarily mean they would be better. I'm happy and that's all that matters.

Short post today and I imagine since all I'm doing tomorrow is going to the gym that my post will be short tomorrow as well ha ha. But no worries!

Until tomorrow!

Sunday, January 10, 2010

I said it's great to be a Tennessee Vol!!!

Oh what a great day! I woke up late...again, that needs to stop. Anyway, Catie left to go back to school today. She had gotten back from her frozen winter camping trip and had a blast. And she left about 4 this afternoon to go back to school.

After we sent Catie on her way, I plopped down in front of the TV in anticipation of the Tennessee-Kansas basketball game. This game was big because of all the Kansas was the #1 team in the country and had embarrassed Tennessee last year in Lawrence, KS. This year though, it was in Knoxville so that helped the Vols. The Vols had also gone through a lot in the last week with 4 players on the basketball team arrested and charged with possession of guns and drugs. So the cards were stacked high against them to start the game.

To make a long story short, the Vols pulled out the win with a lot of heart and tenacity that hadn't been shown like that in a couple of years. It was an outstanding TEAM win and it couldn't have gotten better for them on that day. Outside of their poor free throw shooting, they played nearly perfect against the #1 team in the country. Redemption was had for the Vols and I couldn't have been prouder of them especially after what they had gone through in the previous week. I will always and forever be a Vol!

I haven't done much since the game, ha ha. I've gotten on the computer and watched some of the football games. I also plan on watching the Simpsons 20 year special that I DVRed tonight. Nothing too great but I'll enjoy it.

Overall, a great day due to the HUGE victory for the Vols. Congrats guys, you played great and carry that momentum through the rest of the season.

Until tomorrow!

Saturday, January 9, 2010

Two days in one!

So since I wasn't able to update yesterday, it's here today!

Yesterday started out pretty crappy since I had to get up and shovel the snow...yet again. I saw yet again because I'm tired of the snow and shoveling it. My mom was at work and my sister is camping, so that left me to have to shovel. It was just enough snow to piss me off because I'd shovel it and only half would come up because it was already freezing to the driveway. Luckily though, Mom had bought this really good driveway salt that works nicely. I put that out on the driveway and it worked wonders. I then proceeded to walk the dog due to me trying to be a good son and not wanting my mother to have to worry about it before she goes to work.

My day started to get a bit better knowing I was going to spend most of the rest of the day with two of my favorite people: Kait and Toni. I wasn't looking forward to going to the gym because Toni really gets on me about doing my cardio ha ha. But we got done there and then went to Pier 1 to look at bedside tables. I want a new one because I just don't have a bit enough top to set everything on the one I have now. My mom had given me a flier so we went and checked it out. Unfortunately after looking at it, I'm afraid it's too wide to fit in the spot I want it to go but we'll see. Later after that, Toni needed to get some groceries so we jetted over to Wegman's and I've decided I can't ever go over there hungry again. When that happens it's all over. I eat there and I can't keep doing that because I will probably end up broke. After an early dinner at Wegman's, I went back to Toni's to help her shovel her enormous driveway and then headed home to shower and head to pick up Kaitlyn.

I drove over to Hallmark to get Kaitlyn and we headed back to her house. We had decided to go see "Youth in Revolt", more so that I wanted to see it but Kait owed me after we went to see "It's Complicated" ha ha. Overall, it was pretty funny. It had it's slow parts but most movies have them. I could tell Kaitlyn wasn't really into it but I figured from the beginning that she wouldn't since she never really gave it a chance. After the movie, Kait and I went back to her house to relax a bit then I went home a little later.

Moving on to today, I have done nothing all day. I got up late...later than I wanted to. But I've only been out of the house to walk the dog. I guess it doesn't really matter, but days like this are just so boring. There is only so much time I can spend on the computer. I have football on so that is helping my boredom but it sucks that I really could care less who wins because the Titans aren't in the playoffs. Oh well, some days are going to be like this. I didn't think I would ever hear myself say this, but I'm look forward to the semester starting. I'm 99% positive I'll hate it a week into it, but as of right now I want it to start.

Well since I've pretty much written a book, I think I'll try and find something else to do. Until tomorrow my loving fans, ha ha.

Thursday, January 7, 2010

'Round the bowl and down the hole...Roll Tide Roll

I'm watching the College Football National Championship game on ABC right now and just cannot root for Bama. I know all the SEC people say you need to cheer for your conference but I just don't see it. Why would you cheer for a team that if they win the championship it will hurt your team in the long run. It will only make your rival that much better and that much more confident. That and I've hated Alabama for as long as I can remember. Tennessee and Alabama are rather large rivals in college athletics, especially on the gridiron. I do feel sorry for Texas though. They lose their starting quarterback in the very beginning of the game and have to go with a freshman that has only attempted 28 passes in his college career so far. That might not be as bad if he wasn't goint up against one of the best defenses in the country in Alabama. Oh well, the game is almost 3/4 over and Alabama is up by 18 points. It's all but over since Texas can't do anything on the offensive side of the ball due to the loss of their starting QB and biggest leader.

So basically the moral of my story is Bama can go F themselves! Hahaha.

Bit of an update. Texas just cut the Alabama lead to 11 so maybe there is still hope.

That's all for today. I just needed to voice my opinion on Bama for all those who don't know how I feel about them ;)

Until tomorrow!